My <3 : Wolfram Alpha


Wolfram Alpha

It appears somewhat innocent when loaded, mimicking a google style layout. But we all know how powerful google is – Wolfram Alpha is possibly even better. To demonstrate I’ll give a couple quick examples.

Say I’m struggling to integrate this (not terribly difficult, but it could be a challenge when first learning integrations by parts): x3cos(x2) Say I’ve tried my hardest but have given up. Well, I simply go to Wolfram Alpha and enter my query: integrate x^3*cos(x^2) All kinds of great stuff pops-up, including a graph The best part perhaps is the show steps button, which will explain in practical steps how to find the integral.

Maybe you’re not a math fan, but you love sports, and want to know how many homeruns your Phillies hit in September of 2008. Easy enough. 32 by the way, and on their way to a World Championship.

The possibilities really are endless. Someone asked me for the current moon phase recently. I had no idea if it would work, but went to Wolfram alpha and typed in current moon phase. It worked.

Wolfram Alpha is really a knowledge engine as it states. I’ve only scratched the surface, and could go on all day. If you’re not sure where to start, check here.

If you find anything that really amazes you, be sure to leave it as a comment – I’d love to see.

Leave a Reply

